Awards and Achievements

3 Methodist Staff Members Honored With The Caring Kind Award

Published: Dec. 21, 2021

Three Methodist Health System staff members have been honored by the Nebraska Hospital Association (NHA) with its annual The Caring Kind award. For over 40 years, the award has recognized Nebraska hospital employees who demonstrate compassion for patients, cooperation with coworkers and dedication to excellence in their job responsibilities.

Among this year's 76 honorees were:

  • Sarah Brooks, an office assistant in the NICU at Methodist Women's Hospital
  • Linda Heidemann, a registered nurse at Dunklau Gardens at Methodist Fremont Health
  • Michael McMahon, a chaplain at Methodist Hospital

“This award demonstrates the kindness, caring, dedication and commitment these individuals make to their hospitals," said Laura J. Redoutey, president of the Nebraska Hospital Association.

More than 2,600 caring, skilled and dedicated health care professionals have received The Caring Kind award since its inception in 1979. Each year, hospitals across Nebraska each select one The Caring Kind award recipient from within their respective institutions to be recognized. Typically, the award is given at a luncheon as part of the NHA Annual Convention. However, due to COVID-19 restrictions, the awards were sent to the recipients and a special video (which can be viewed at the top of this article) was created to honor the winners. 

To see the full list of this year's honorees, click here.

Caring Kind Awards 2021
Methodist staff members who received The Caring Kind award this year are, from left, Sarah Brooks, Linda Heidemann and Michael McMahon.