Awards and Achievements

3 Methodist Nurses Honored With March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards

Published: Dec. 2, 2020
Image for post: 3 Methodist Nurses Honored With March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards

Each year, March of Dimes (MOD) hosts its annual Nurse of the Year Awards to celebrate nursing excellence and recognize leaders in nursing across Nebraska and Iowa.

This year the MOD received a record 321 nominations across 22 nomination categories. Of those nominations, eight Methodist nurses were selected as finalists for their category. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the 2020 celebration on Dec. 1 was held virtually. Click here to watch the virtual celebration on Facebook.

Methodist Winners

Congratulations to the Methodist nurses who were honored with Nurse of the Year Awards!

Family Nominated

Brent Hannah, 7 North Critical Care, Methodist Hospital

Long-Term Care/Post Acute

Wendy Rix, Dunklau Gardens


Sheri Cunningham, 5 South Short Stay, Methodist Hospital

Methodist Finalists

The following Methodist nurses were announced as finalists on Oct. 23.


Tori McElligott, 8 South Med/Surg, Methodist Hospital

Public/Community/Home Health & Hospice/Palliative Care

Hilary Applequist, Palliative Care, Methodist Hospital


Courtney Weaver, Nebraska Methodist College

Surgical Services/Procedural Care

Kathleen Kauffman, Surgery, Methodist Women's Hospital

Women’s Health

Tasha Bang, Labor & Delivery, Methodist Women's Hospital

More Information

March of Dimes pays tribute to the nursing profession by recognizing extraordinary nurses throughout the community. Nurses are nominated by peers, nurse managers, supervisors or the families they have impacted. Each application is blinded, carefully reviewed and scored by a committee of Chief Nursing Officers and Nurse leaders from the health care community in Nebraska and western Iowa. 

To learn more about the March of Dimes Nurse of the Year Awards, go to