Awards and Achievements

Congratulations to the 2016 Nurse Excellence Award Winners

Published: May 9, 2016
Image for post: Congratulations to the 2016 Nurse Excellence Award Winners

Nurse Excellence Awards

Twenty-seven MHS nursing professionals were honored as Nurse Excellence Award winners at a luncheon on Friday, May 6. Many of them are pictured below.

The Professional Development Council used a scoring system to select winners from the nurses nominated for the 2016 Nursing Excellence Award program. Winners must exemplify a day-to-day demonstration of the core values of the organization, including  patient focus, honor and respect, excellence and teamwork, and service to community.


MHS Nurse Excellence Award Honorees: Staff/Core

  • Jocelyn Araujo, MH 9 N/S Cardiac

  • Katie Asay, MWH Surgical Services

  • Tamara Bardon, MJE Emergency Dept.

  • Becky Bischof, MH 7S/ACE

  • Julie Buckelew, MJE Cardiac Vascular Center

  • Lori Burbridge, MJE Float Pool

  • Justine Cox, MH 5 S/Short Stay

  • Patti Guill, MJE Birth Center

  • Karen Hallman, MJE Ortho/Neuro/Oncology

  • Jason Heimes, MH Progressive Care

  • Tim Hoarty, MH 9 N/S Cardiac

  • Julie Kamphaus, MH Surgery Preop

  • Katelyn Kauffman, MH 8 North/Ortho

  • Nicole Kuehl-Hanson, MH ED

  • Denise McCurley, MJE Telemetry Unit

  • Amy Morris, MH 7S/ACE

  • Jennifer Nelson, MH 9 N/S Cardiac

  • Therese Nevinski, MH 9 South Cardiac

  • Ashley Nihsen, MWH Labor & Delivery

  • Karen Novak, MWH Labor & Delivery

  • Kayleen Parys, MH Oncology

  • Andy Sass, MH 7 South/ACE

  • Sara Vaghy, MH 6 S/ Oncology

MHS Nurse Excellence Award Honorees: Leadership

  • Aimee Black, MH 7 South/ACE — Manager

  • Chris Cain, MH 8N Ortho — Staff Development Nurse

  • Michelle Whitney, MJE Night Administrative Coordinator — Manager

  • Ann Wieseler, MH ED — APRN

Methodist Hospital (MH)
Methodist Jennie Edmundson Hospital (MJE)
Methodist Women's Hospital (MWH